India-Info title

home contact search menu
Follow on
Snippets of Information

* 9 Sep 2021
Sabarimala Ayyappa temple

* 6 Sep 2023
Dashavatara pilgrim tourism programme was introduced in Kozhikode. Temples depicting the Dashavatara in such close proximity can be found only in Kozhikode, Kerala.
Temples of the 10 incarnations of lord Vishnu (Dashavataram) spread across Kakkur, Nanmanda and Chelannur panchayats in Kozhikode district.
Perumeenpuram Matsyavatara temple, Aamamangalam Koormavatara temple, Thrikkoyil Narasimhavathara temple, Ramalloor Sreeramaswami temple, Kavil Balarama Swami temple, Theerthankara Vamana temple, and Eeenthodu Sreekrishna Temple in Kakkur panchayat, besides Varaha temple in Nanmanda and Parashurama temple in Chelannur are the nine temples that come under the programme. Efforts are being made to unearth the Kalki temple with the help of the department of Archaeology.
Source:  Pilgrimage circuit covering Dashavatara temples launched,, July 09, 2023

* 31 Jul 2021
Padmanabhaswamy Temple, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
- Considered one of the richest temples in the world, it is dedicated to Lord Vishnu in the anantha sayana pose, reclining on Adisesha and is one of the 108 Divya Desams.
- A blend of Dravidian and Kerala styles of architecture, the temple history dates back to the 8th century.  Originally made of wood, the granite structure was constructed / renovated by Maharaja Marthanda Varma (the architect of modern Travancore) in the 18th century.  The temple boasts of some beautiful stone and bronze sculptures, idols and beautiful murals.
- The idol is considered to be made of 12008 salagramams, brought from the banks of river Gandhaki, Nepal
- Darshan of the main idol, about 18 ft long is had in sections through 3 doors. 
Source: ; All about Padmanabhaswamy Temple, its treasures and the royal family that will control it,, 14 July, 2020

* Jul 2021
Koodalmanikyam Temple in Irinjalakuda, Kerala is dedicated to the worship of Bharata (Lord Sangameshwara). The temple is one of four in Kerala that form a set called Nalambalam, with each temple dedicated to one of the four brothers in the Ramayana epic: Rama, Bharata, Lakshmana and Shatrughna.