India-Info title

home contact search menu
Follow on

Snippets of Information

Temples in Karnataka

* 5 Dec 2021
Around 1,500 temples in 958 centres, according to historical records, were built during the Hoysala period - between A.D. 1000 and A.D.1346.
The main entrance to the Chennakesava temple complex is crowned by an ornate gopura or tower, built in the Vijayanagara style. Within the complex, the main temple of Chennakesava lies in the centre, facing east, flanked on its right by the Kappe Chennigaraya temple, and a small Lakshmi shrine. Set back on its left is an Andal, or Ammanavara temple. There are two graceful Garuda sthambhas, or pillars, in the main courtyard. The sthambha facing the main temple was built in the Vijayanagara period, and the one to the right of the temple was built by the Hoysalas.
The ruler who built this temple was Vishnuvardhana, who succeeded to the Hoysala throne in the first decade of the 12th century and completed this (temple) in A.D. 1117. 
He built three temples in this complex - the Vijayanarayana, the Kesava and the Lakshminarayana.
There are 118 inscriptions in the temple complex, belonging to a period from A.D. 1117 to the 18th century. They record details of the construction of the temple, the artists employed, the grants and endowments given, and the renovations to the temple. In one of the first inscriptions engraved in this temple, Vishnuvardhana says that he has "built it from the wealth which he amassed from the sword". He says that the main temple was built to celebrate his liberation from the Chalukyas. It was a declaration of his sovereign status. That is why he called the deity Vijayanarayana, a name later changed to Chennakesava. Later myths suggest that he built this temple after he was converted to Sri Vaishnavism by Ramanuja.
Source: Hoysala heritage by S. Settar (historian),, April 25, 2003

* 16 Nov 2021
The seven mukti stalas of Karnataka (Parasurama Kshetras)
- Udupi Bala Krishna - Gopala temple (seat of Madhvacharya, the founder of the Dvaita school of philosophy)
- Kollur Mookambika temple, in Udupi district (Shree Kshethram set up by Adi Shankaracharya)
- Gokarna Shiva temple in Uttara Kannada district (Atmalinga given by Lord Shiva to Ravana)
- Subrahmanya temple on the Kumara Parvata
- Kumbasi (Kumbhasi) Ganesha temple (Ganesha in standing posture).
- Kodeshwara / Kotilingeshwara temple (worshipped by Brahma)
- Sankaranarayana temple (there are two Lingams)
All of these shrines are also known as Parasurama Kshetrams, created on the land reclaimed from the sea by Parasurama.

* 19 Oct 2021
Lingaraj temple - Pinterest collection
Amruteshvara Temple, Amruthapura, Chickmagalur district of, Karnataka
Amrita-dandanayaka, who was a general in the army of the Hoysala king Ballala II, caused the Amrutesvara temple to be constructed in the Hoysala style .
There is a stone stele engraved with an inscription composed by the celebrated thirteenth century Kannada poet Janna who was a court poet of the Hoysala king Ballala II and earned the title of ‘kavichakravarti’. Yashodhara Charite, Ananthnatha Purana and Anubhava Mukura are among is famous works.
A unique feature of the mukha-mandapa is its more than hundred miniature temple towers carved on its parapet wall. These models are carved in big and small sizes in alternate fashion. These are supported on pilasters arranged in star design. Few turrets show curvilinear rising which indeed is peculiar as such a design is not frequently seen in Hoysala temples.
There are several large panels on the upper part of the parapet wall depicting scenes from the Ramayana, Krishna's life and the Mahabharata.
The south side railing displays various scenes from Ramayana such as Putrakameshti Yajna, Rama proving his strength, Setu Bandhan, False heads of Rama and Lakshmana shown to Sita, Hanumana lecturing Ravana, Fall of Ravana, Sita’s reunion with Rama and Lakshmana.
To the right of the north entrance, there are twenty-five panels related to Krishna stories as depicted in Bhagavata Purana and another forty-five panels depicting early events of Mahabharata - Krishna-lilas starting with his birth in Kamsa’s prison, Bakasura Vatsasura Pralambasura vadhams, Kaliya nartanam, Govardhana Giri, end of Kamsa in the hands of Krishna.
Scenes from the Mahabharata such as Kunti with her five sons, seeking help from Bhishma, Lakshagrha on fire, Draupadi Svayamvara, Khandava Forest on fire, Shishupal Episode, Arjuna being granted Pashupata in the hands of Shiva. 
The tower of the temple is a seven story structure consisting of seven rows of indented square-shaped kirtimukhas. In each of these kirtimukhas are placed a form of Rudra. The top stone kalasa is no more there, it has been replaced with a metal kalasa. The tower projects over to sukanasi above which a Hoysala emblem is placed. This emblem depicts the fighting scene between Sala and a tiger.
To the south of the main temple, at right angle, is a Sarasvati Temple.
Source - Text and images in pinterest collection: Amruthapura - The Amruteshvara Temple by Saurabh Saxena,, December 7, 2015