India-Info title

home contact search menu
Follow on

Snippets of information

Music - Ragas

* 26 Mar 2023
The time theory of Hindustani classical music is conventionally followed as a mandatory rule. According to this theory, there are eight Prahars, with 24 hours of a day divided into eight time zones. Ragas belonging to a particular Prahar of the day are best suited for it and are recommended to be played or sung during this ideal time zone. There are also seasonal ragas like Basant and Bahaar for Basant Ritu, the spring season, and Malhar and its variants for Varsha Ritu, the rainy season, which are allowed any time during that period.
Puriya Dhanashree, a ‘Sandhi Prakash’ raga is played or sung when there is a convergence of light of the day and darkness of the night – their coming together at dusk or dawn.
Source: An incessant flow of colours by Manjari Sinha,

* 30 Jul 2022
M Balamuralikrishna was a musician extraordinaire. He was a Carnatic vocalist, composer, playback singer and instrumentalist. He has created 20-plus unique ragas such as Ganapati, Lavangi, Sumukham, Mahati, and Trisakthi without altering the tradition of Carnatic music.
Raga Lavangi has only four musical notes (Sa Re Ma Da) and raga Ganapathy has three ( Sa Ga Pa). Usually, ragas have at least five notes.
Source: Throwback to Balamuralikrishna's thillanas by Ram Rakshith V,, Jul 15, 2022