India-Info title

home contact search menu
Follow on
Snippets of Information
Locations in Uttarakhand

Other Temples in Uttarakhand

Formerly known as Uttaranchal
Also called "Devbhumi" or the Land of the Gods.
Winter capital: Dehradun ; Summer capital: Gairsain
Natives: Uttarakhandi, Garhwali, Kumaoni

* 17 Nov 2021
Panch Prayag
The Alakananda river begins its journey in the Himalayan mountains at the Satopanth glacier.  There are 5 holy confluences where it is joined by other rivers.
Vishnuprayag - confluence with Dhauliganga river
Nandaprayag - confluence with Nandakini river
Karnaprayag - confluence with Pindar river
Rudraprayag - confluence with Mandakini river
Devprayag - confluence with Bhagirathi river

* 17 Nov 2021
Devprayag ( Dev - heavenly ; Prayag - confluence)
is a town in Uttarakhand, a holy place with Raghunath Ji temple, Dhaneshwar Mahadev temple, Danda Nagaraja temple, Chandrabadni temple, Mata Bhuvaneshwari temple.
Deva prayag (Sangam) is the last of the panch prayags and is the confluence of Alakananda and Bhagirathi rivers, which is known as the river Ganga or Ganges from this point.

* 17 Nov 2021
Alakananda, a Himalayan river and along with the Bhagirathi river is a head stream of the river Ganga and flows into Dev Prayag. Alakanada rises at the Satopanth and Bhagirath Kharak glaciers in Uttarakhand. The 5 main rivers joining the Alakananda are Dhauliganga, Nandakini, Pindar, Mandakini and Bhagirathi.  The confluence of the Alakananda and Bhagirathi rivers is at Deva prayag.

* 17 Nov 2021
Bhagirathi, a Himalayan river and along with the Alakananda river is a head stream of the river Ganga and flows into Dev Prayag. The head waters are formed at Gaumukh at the foot of the Gangotri and Khatling glaciers, Garhwal Himalays.